History, culture, ice cream

Written on the 14th of July

Turkey – we’re in Turkey!  Today we landed in Istanbul, after a long, 11-hour flight.  For some of us, I think more Spiderman Three was chosen over sleep (and then rewatched), but I think we all managed to get a few hours of z’s during the flight. When we had about ninety minutes to go, I looked out the window and saw the mountainous land of Eastern Turkey.  It’s seemed so rugged and red; I know I’m from the Kimberley but this seemed even redder at the time, maybe because there wasn’t any bush or trees to break up the colour.  The view kind of reminded me of a crumpled bed sheet!

Arriving: after we made our way through the visa and passport checkpoints, and we found our luggage (I made a mad dash to get one off the luggage belt as it rounded a corner, but I ended up getting dragged along with the luggage and into people!  Eventually I was able to hoist it out to the ground!)

Our ride to the hotel took us next to the sea and beside part of an old wall – I think it was one built in Constantine’s empire to keep out unwanted guests – and then we drove into the streets.  The streets are so narrow; you’d think it was really a wide pathway, not a road!  He took us up and down, left and right, across the cobbled stone streets, where there are cheap barber shops and launder mats right next to spiffy motels and restaurants and the traditional McDonald’s and Subway’s.  It’s not exactly eastern-looking, but it’s not western either.

We left our bags at the motel and went wandering through the streets, and found a place to buy a ‘snack’ of pizza, and water. The waiter was extremely generous and talkative, and helped Dad out with the map, and we showed him our brag album of where we come from!  Apparently he knew we were Australians as soon as we opened our mouths – and we didn’t even say ‘G’day’!

You can’t drink any old water here in Turkey – it has to be bottled.  It is really cheap though.

After that we wandered through this old part of the city.  We went up to the Hagia Sophia, which was quite magnificent, but we didn’t go in today.  We looked over the Golden Horn, a little estuary of the Bosporus (which was a bit smelly!)  To get there we had to go through a small bazaar, which was stuffy and busy, but probably nothing like what the Grand Bazaar will be like!  We saw a few big mosques and heard the traditional song of calling for prayer, which was quite beautiful melody-speaking but sad to see so many people feel the need to work for salvation.  The waiter told us earlier that he goes to the mosque every 12 hours.  It makes Jesus’ free, undeserved, unmerited grace, that much sweeter.

As we listened to the music, we were munching on corn cobs bought on the side of the street.  Some were roasted, and were chewy and smelt like popcorn.  Then there was the icecream!  Lots of locals seemed to be going for McDonald’s icecream, but we wanted the real deal.  We found a bald man with a huge, black handlebar moustache selling vanilla, chocolate, and pistachio icecream.  As is traditional here, he quickly scooped up the icecream with his long, metal, flat scoop and in a movement that must be ‘all in the wrist’, he gave it to Mum.  Then he started again and wacked three flavours on the cone and handed it to Nomi before she could protest that she didn’t want pistachio.  As she looked at her cone, she found it empty and Daniel with the cone brimming with icecream – the man had grabbed two cones and did another tricky wrist movement to trick us!

I’m not sure if I like normal icecream or Turkish icecream better.  The Turkish icecream reminds me of mozzarella cheese pizzas, where the cheese stretches like elastic.  You don’t just lick your icecream, or bite into it and let it dissolve in your mouth – it is kind of syrupy in taste once it starts to melt, but until then it’s actually chewy!

Turkey is an interesting place.  It’s full of history and people still seem to live a simple life, with their little shops, but it’s bustling with tourists from all over the world.  There’s a constructions site opposite from our building and right next to an old building which would be demolished in Australia standards.  It has snippets of western culture seeping in to an eastern-influenced culture, but even then Turkey’s not really eastern, but on its own.  I’m not really sure why – maybe I’ll learn as I travel through the rest of Turkey – but I think I’m going to learn a lot.  This morning I found it all a bit overwhelming, but I think I’m starting to enjoy the adventure of spending the next two weeks in this crossroads of cultures, history, and icecream.

This entry was posted in Family, Homeschool, Travel and tagged , , , , , by Jessica. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jessica

I grew up and live in north-east Kimberley, Western Australia. I was homeschooled by my two parents with my three siblings. Currently, my interests include playing piano, reading books (okay so more like increasing my 'to-read' pile), digital scrapbooking (three generations are hooked and counting), cooking, movies, swimming, history, social justice, board games, writing, and being with people!

7 thoughts on “History, culture, ice cream

  1. Chewy ice cream?!?!? Never heard that one before! Thanks for sharing the little things of your trip as well as the big things. I can just about imagine you there.

    Hayley

  2. Wow, reading this I actually feel like I am there in Turkey too! Love your writing 🙂
    And chewy ice cream… sounds pretty cool – I guess it would last longer hey!

    Mad

    • Hi Jess, Hayley, Ham’G and Maddy!
      Thanks for commenting! The icecream was pretty neat – it wasn’t like eating-a-steak kind of chewy, but it wasn’t as mushy as our icecream, either. And Ham’G – the corn wasn’t huge (I think it just looks big because of the angle of the camera) but it was the whole thing – it wasn’t head and tailed like what we’d buy at the store. Maybe a bit bigger than what we have here.

      Lots of love,
      Jess

  3. Hi Jess,
    A great report! We all loved it. The thing that most surprised me was how clean the streets look. I didn’t seen any rubbish at all! The ice-cream sounds a little strange for sure. The feeling of being overwhelmed is perfectly normal especially after a long flight. Within a few days you will not want to come home!

    Marisah says ” Did Jessica go all the way around and around on the luggage thing at the airport? I hope you are having lots of fun! Can you send me some chewy ice-cream?”

    Ariya says “It sounds very interesting. I wish I could go there with you. I would like to try some chewy ice-cream. The mountains sound beautiful, I would like to climb them with you.”

Leave a Reply

